Call: 011 075 4896 +27 83 353 8584

57608 National Certificate: Wealth Management Level 5

Current Status
Not Enrolled
On Request
Get Started
This course is currently closed

The purpose of the National Certificate: Wealth Management Level 5 is to build the knowledge and skills required by employees in Wealth Management who have achieved a Qualification equivalent to NQF Level 4, preferably in a Financial Services related field, and are ready to study at Level 5. It is intended to empower learners to acquire knowledge, skills, attitudes and values required to operate ethically and responsibly in the highly regulated Financial Services environment and to respond to the challenges posed by the changing nature of the Financial Services Industry. It should add value to the qualifying learner in terms of enrichment of the person, status, licensing and recognition.

As a Qualification in Wealth Management, it provides a framework for learners to develop competencies related to the Long Term Insurance Sub-Sector, which includes Life Benefits, Retirement Funds and Medical Scheme Administration, as well as the Collective Investment Sub-Sector, Wealth Creation and Wealth Management. It provides a balanced learning experience and an opportunity for learners to apply academic skills in relation to the workplace. The Qualification is structured in such a way that it exposes learners to generic competencies required in the Financial Services Sector at Level 5 and allows for specialisation to meet the needs of different work roles.

The National Certificate: Wealth Management: Level 5 is a building block for learners who wish to follow a career path in Financial Services within Long-Term Insurance and Investment. The skills, knowledge, values and attitudes reflected in the Qualification are building blocks that can be developed further at Level 6.


The National Certificate: Financial Services: Wealth Management: NQF Level 5 was registered in July 2003. The qualification has been reviewed and expanded to meet the needs of learners in a variety of positions in the Financial Services industry. The National Certificate: Wealth Management: Level 5 replaces the National Certificate: Financial Services: Wealth Management: NQF Level 5. It is a holistic qualification which combines Long Term Insurance, Collective Investments, Retirement Funds, Medical Scheme Administration, Short Term Insurance and other aspects of Wealth Creation and Wealth Management.

The Qualification has relevance for learners in Retirement Funds and Medical Schemes, Intermediaries including, but not limited to, Financial Advisors, Personal Financial Planners, Financial Services Call Centre Agents, Client Service Providers, Brokers, Broker Consultants, Retirement Fund Consultants, Retirement Fund Administrators, Trust Fund Officers, Product Developers, Consultants who advise on product structure of Retirement Funds, Principal Officers, Trustees, Medical Scheme Consultants, Senior Administrators, Retail Mangers who support Advisors and have a back office function, Collective Investment Scheme Managers, Account Executives and Compliance Officers.

The learning pathway for learners in Insurance and Investment